Raw Vegan Brownies with Fudgy Frosting

15 Feb

Have things ever been a changin’ in the Morsels Minus kitchen. In the past year it has seen more changes than you can imagine! I have gone mostly vegan while the rest of my family remains omnivorous. A Vitamix came on the scene in the spring and has helped me incorporate so many more healthy fruits and veggies into our diets. I have also found a passion for raw baked goods.

Not only have things been changing in the kitchen, I have an entirely new kitchen. In the summer we packed up and moved from Saskatchewan to Calgary, Alberta. While I miss my friends in Meadow Lake, I must say that I am loving the city. Fresh, exciting new ingredients make regular appearances in my pantry and refrigerator and I am enjoying the abundant options I have for grocery shopping. Within a few blocks of my house I have access to your standard grocers as well as a couple of fantastic organic markets.

The bottom line is that I have a ton of new recipes on deck to share with you and I am back. What you can expect from Morsels Minus is a lot of healthy recipes with quality ingredients. You are going to love our new ways!

Here’s one of my favourite new recipes. It’s for Raw Vegan Brownies. I love so much about them. They are loaded with healthy seeds, quick to make, and absolutely delicious. If you make them once, you will never stop. They keep in the fridge for up to one week, but I’ll bet they won’t last that long! My kids, husband and I all go nuts over these. They make a great treat, but I sometimes eat them for breakfast! They are full of omega 3 fatty acids, protein, antioxidants, and fiber, so why not? You’ll feel like you’re indulging, but you are really nourishing your body. If you’re looking for a great gluten free dessert, this is perfect! Some of you may favor using nuts and if you do, I recommend omitting the coconut oil in the brownie dough and using cashews.
253083_10151939791195400_1720565785_n

Raw Vegan Brownies

Yield: 9-12 squares

In a food processor combine:

3/4 cup hemp hearts, raw shelled sunflower seeds, or raw shelled pumpkin seeds

12 pitted Medjool dates

1/4 cup cacao powder (or cocoa powder)

a pinch of sea salt

1 tbsp coconut oil, melted

  1. Process until a smooth, chocolatey, dough ball forms.
  2. Remove from food processor and cut into squares. Place each square into its own mini muffin tin liner.

Fudgy Frosting

Makes 1/4 cup

In a food processor combine:

1/4 cup agave nectar

1/4 cup cacao powder (or cocoa powder)

1 tbsp coconut oil, melted

  1. Refrigerate for 10 minutes until it is soft and pliable. Kind of like Play-Doh!

Put it all together…

  1. Take a little ball of frosting, about 1/2 teaspoon, and use your fingers to spread it over a square. Repeat until each square is frosted.
  2. Optional toppings to decorate your brownies may include shredded coconut or chopped seeds/nuts.
  3. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Some of you might be curious about the differences between cocoa and cacao. Cacao is a raw superfood. It is loaded with fiber and anti-oxidants. Cocoa is basically cacao’s less nutritionally dense second cousin. So if it’s an option and it’s within your budget, choose cacao!

I hope my readers will forgive me for my long absence from the virtual stage. If you are interested in following my recipes on Instagram, search me out @nothingrhymeswithandrea

Looking forward to getting reacquainted!

4 Responses to “Raw Vegan Brownies with Fudgy Frosting”

  1. dashofmommy February 15, 2013 at 11:50 pm #

    Wow, these sound great, and easy!

  2. eddaliss April 17, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    i substituted the seeds for walnuts, added about 2 tablespoons sunflower seed butter (to make it fudgier), and topped with coconut flakes. turned out so good!!!

    • Andrea, Morsels Minus April 23, 2013 at 10:36 am #

      I love how versatile this recipe is. Thanks for sharing your success! I have made it with sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds and hemp hearts with great success each time. Depending on the fat content of the seeds/nuts, the amount of coconut oil may need to be increased/decreased. If you use cashews, for example, you can likely eliminate the coconut oil completely.

Leave a comment